Voss earns All-GPAC First Team honors

 Jalen Voss from DWU.

Jalen Voss

Mike Lee from DWU.

Mike Lee

Aireus Stephenson from DWU.

Aireus Stephenson

MITCHELL, S.D. – In his first season with the Dakota Wesleyan University men’s basketball team, Jalen Voss was named the Great Plains Athletic Conference co-Freshman-of-the-Year and earned honorable mention accolades in 2011-12. He followed that up with All-GPAC First Team honors in his sophomore campaign, it was announced Wednesday by the league.

Voss – the only sophomore on the first team – is one of three Tigers honored by the league this season. Seniors Mike Lee and Aireus Stephenson both earned honorable mention status in their final year with the DWU men’s basketball program. This is the second honor for both Lee and Voss and the first for Stephenson.

Voss, a 6-foot-7 forward from Worthington, Minn., is the youngest player on the first team, but led the Tigers in nearly every statistical category this season. He led the team in scoring (14.2), rebounding (9.9) and blocked shots (44). He led the team in scoring 11 times this season and grabbed the most rebounds on the team in 26 of DWU’s 31 games.

Voss finished the year 10th in the GPAC in scoring and first in the conference and sixth in the NAIA in rebounds per game. He was also third in the GPAC in total blocks and finished first in the GPAC and tied for third in the nation with 17 double-doubles. Voss also finished fourth in the NAIA in total rebounds (308) and 19th in field-goal percentage (.563).

Lee, who earned second-team honors as a junior in 2011-12, finished the year sixth in the conference and 20th in the NAIA in free-throw percentage (.829). He averaged 12.2 points per game and scored 341 points. He also had 60 rebounds, 60 assists and 24 steals and led the team in scoring eight times. He finishes his two-year career with 641 points, 109 rebounds, 92 assists and 42 steals.

Stephenson made an immediate impact for the Tigers in his first season with the program. He finished second on the team in scoring at 13.9 points per game, and led the team with 90 assists this season. He also had 30 steals and 53 rebounds. He led the team in scoring eight times.

Voss is the only All-GPAC honoree who returns for the Tigers next season. Lee and Stephenson, along with Carde Pennington, Bo LaCroix, Paul Burgess, Trent Wookey and Jamar Reese all graduate in May. Dakota Wesleyan went 14-17 in 2012-13 and earned the eighth seed in the conference postseason tournament.

Northwestern College senior Ben Miller earned GPAC Player-of-the-Year honors this season. Morningside’s Trent Miller was named the league’s Defensive Player-of-the-Year and Doane’s Connor Beranek earned freshman-of-the-year honors. Northwestern head coach Kris Korver earned GPAC Coach-of-the-Year honors.